STRAYNGER RANGER

Home / Mining History

AMALIE MILL & MINE

Dating back to 1894, the Amalie Mill & Mine near Caliente, CA remains one of the best preserved mining sites in and around Kern County.    

Read More

LA MINING: ANGELES NATIONAL FOREST

You can still find some amazing artifacts from LA’s mining days if you know where to look. It still contains the original ore cart rails that were used when the mine was active. It appears that there used to be […]

Read More

BIG HORN MINE [EXTERIOR]

Perched nearly 7000 feet up on the rugged eastern face of Mount Baden-Powell and overlooking the historic East Fork of the San Gabriel River, sits one of Southern California’s largest abandoned mines.      

Read More

INSIDE BIG HORN MINE

Inside one of Southern California’s largest abandoned mines.    

Read More

KENNEDY GOLD MINE

The Kennedy Mine in California’s Gold Country, is famous for being one of the deepest gold mines in the world (at 5912 feet) and demonstrates how gold changed an entire way of life in California.        

Read More

GOLD COUNTRY NUGGETS

Traveling through the historic mining communities of the 1849 California gold rush along State Route 49, The Mother Lode Highway.        

Read More

KNIGHT FOUNDRY

A center of innovation in California’s Mother Lode country, the historic Knight Foundry actively served the needs of the mining and lumber industries for over 120 years and is believed to be the only remaining water-powered foundry and machine shop […]

Read More

SHASTA CITY : SHASTA STATE HISTORIC PARK

On the road between Redding and the California Coast, sits a once-thriving and now picturesque gold rush ghost town nestled in the hills along the Trinity River. A century and a half ago, Shasta was the biggest city in the […]

Read More

TONOPAH HISTORIC MINING PARK

The historic park covers more than 100 acres and is located on the site of the original mining claims that started the rush to Tonopah, making it “Queen of the Silver Camps”.    

Read More

BONNIE CLAIRE MINING RUINS

Bonnie Clare was established in October 1906 as a milling center for several nearby mines.  

Read More

>> <<